Looking Sharp – Sharpie Ad

In the last few weeks, I’ve been developing an ad campaign for Sharpies for my COMM 130 class. The process has included cutting out a bit of technology for a week, sketching and coming up with designs, coming up with slogans, and actually designing the ad. This is what I came up with!

One is the correct size for a facebook ad, and the other is the correct size for a blog ad, which are the two main forms of media consumption of my target audience.

Image credits:
Sharpie: Jayda Skidmore (me)


Background from Pixabay: https://pixabay.com/en/bath-bow-tie-young-sympathetic-1445287/


Bow tie from Pixabay: https://pixabay.com/en/bath-bow-tie-young-sympathetic-1445287/

Overall Explanation

For this project, I used photoshop to create various ads for my randomly generated demographic. I was assigned sharpies for women ages 25-34 who are married and educated and view most ads through social media like facebook, and blogs.

Design Analysis

Designing the ad was super fun! I enjoyed figuring out how to appeal to the masses. I spent quite a bit of time trying to come up with puns that would be easy to convey in an ad, and then trying to figure out how to develop that in photoshop. I worked on typography to make it as elegant as possible. I tried many different script-type fonts, but this one (which is a basic, overused one) was the one that looked the most elegant while still remaining readable. I messaged with the font colors, as well, but found that white was the most legible while remaining elegant.

I came up with many ideas, but this is what I chose!

Target Audience

I was assigned randomly a target audience of women ages 25-34 who are married, educated, and make less than $100,000 a year. Because they’re in the same age range as my husband and me, I knew it would be semi-easy figuring out how to appeal to the majority of them. I also knew that they got most of their ads from social media and blogs, so it needed to be clean and concise while still conveying the message.

How My Design Decisions Enhance My Icons

My design for this ad campaign really focused on being concise and elegant. I chose to really focus on alignment and focal points (the sharpie) to make the whole purpose of the ad obvious. The text is aligned, the background is purposefully blurred to make the pen stand out more. I decided to use a red bow tie to make the sharpie stand out even more than before, because the red pops against the blue background.

Conclusion

This project was an exciting one! I enjoyed brainstorming ways to appeal to the masses, and have enjoyed the idea of marketing and determining how to make something seem more desirable to larger amounts of people.

Leave a Reply

